I might get flamed for posting this after the lively discussion on women, science, stereotypes, and smart vs pretty.  But I’m never one to skirt around an issue.  Ahem.  Last week A Blog Around the Clock posted an article about Science vs. Britney Spears, about how the public is more likely to be surfing the internet looking for information about Britney+Spears+naked than about the Large Hadron Collider (hmm, maybe my blog stats will go up when I post this!)

So I’m taking this as an opportunity to point people to a place where the twain SHALL meet — the wonderful Britney Spears’ Guide to Semiconductor Physics. No, really. It has nothing to do with Britney Spears, except for the delightfully tongue-in-cheek photographs sprinkled throughout the rather good primer on semiconductor physics. I used the attached photo as an illustration in a presentation I gave in a graduate physics class while getting my PhD. I was the only woman in a room of 5 men. The professor shook his head and said, “You’re the only one in this room who could get away with that.”

I guess that’s sort of like how it’s OK for Jewish people to make jokes about Jewish people.

