How did I not hear of this before?  The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is sponsoring a dance contest! The deadline is November 16.  Your job?  To interpret your PhD thesis in dance form.

The contest is open to anyone who has (or is pursuing) a Ph.D. in any scientific field, such as physics, chemistry, biology, psychology, anthropology, or in science-related fields such as mathematics, engineering, linguistics, bioethics, the history of science, etc. regardless of whether you’ve remained in academia.

The best video will be chosen from the categories of Graduate student, Post-Doc, Professor, and Most Popular. The prize?  International fame, and a professional choreographer will create a piece interpreting one of your peer-reviewed publications.  Wow.

Here’s information on last years’ winners.

My thesis was “Exciton Dynamics of Polymer Heterojunctions for Photovoltaics.”  How might I interpret the rapid de-excitation of bound electrons in conjugated polymers as dance?  I’m a contra, swing, and ballroom dancer.  Lessee…. All the types of dance that I can think of to show an excited electron traveling down a polymer backbone are *set* dances, with a group of people.  I wish I were a jazz dancer and could do more solo stuff!   Anyone have some ideas?  It would help if I could remember my dissertation.

